Page 1 of 1

Server maintenance

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:52 am
by Sophira
Hi all,

The provider being used to host twwf.info, Linode, has told me that they will need to perform maintenance on the server hosting it. This maintenance will take place on 2015-10-21 at 5am UTC. Converted to other time zones, that's:

* 2015-10-21 6am BST,
* 2015-10-21 1am EDT,
* 2015-10-20 10pm PDT.

They're allocating a two-hour maintenance window but say that the actual downtime could be much less.

I don't see any major problems happening here; in fact, some emergency maintenance was required only three days ago (for which I had no notice, due to its nature), but the server bounced back online quickly enough. There may be a longer delay this time round before it comes back up, though, so if you find yourself unable to access the server starting from the above times, please don't panic. :)

(If something does happen to the server and somehow it doesn't come back up - which is extremely unlikely - then I probably wouldn't be around at 6am to fix the problem immediately, so it might need a bit more time in that case. I'll fix it as soon as I can though if anything does happen!)

Thanks again for making twwf.info what it is. :)

Re: Server maintenance

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:39 am
by Sophira
More server maintainence, I'm afraid. Linode have said that they need to reboot the server to perform updates in a few days. It's going to occur at 2015-12-16 4am UTC. In other time zones, that's:

* 2015-12-16 4am GMT,
* 2015-12-15 11pm EST,
* 2015-12-15 8pm PST.

Once again, they allocate a two-hour maintenance window but say the the actual downtime can be much less, and once again I don't see any major problems occurring. Just a heads-up - if you're trying to reach the site about this time and can't, try again in maybe 30 minutes or so. :)